Racing flat questions - Saucony Fastwitch 6, A6, and Skechers Go Run Speed 2
  • My guess is that the answer to all of my questions are either:  it depends or it doesn't matter.  I've been transitioning to lower drop shoes for the last 6 months or so and most of my running lately has been in the Go Run 2's and the Go Run Ride 2's.  I've got a half-marathon coming up in the next six weeks and I've become bitten by the "racing flat" bug (as indicated by my previous post comparing the GR2's and GR Speeds).  I'm considering the ones listed in the heading for a couple of reasons: 1) ligthweight, 2) low heel-toe drop, and 3) brands that I know and trust.  Let me fully acknowledge that I recognize that this is more curiosity than anything else because I'm not a fast runner and I know that a racing flat is not going to make me that much of a faster runner. This is just me and my shoe fetish getting the best of me!  But, anyway, on to a few questions:

1.  Do you find a firmer forefoot to be helpful in trying to go fast on race day?
    2.  Is there that much improvement with any of these over say the GR2 since the GR2 is already so light?  Or does the firmer forefoot really give back some energy that a cushier forefoot does not?
    3.  I'm really happy in the Skechers models that I mentioned above so my guess is that I could run in any of the ones listed above with little problem.  Does anyone have any concerns / comments about running in a racing flat as opposed to what I have been training in?

While my shoe fetish is burning a hole in my pocket, I don't want to drop money on a shoe that I'm not going to actually use.  Of course, if I order from runningwarehouse or roadrunnersports, I can always send it back after trying it on.

(Just give me permission to buy another shoe is really all that I am asking!)  :-)  Thanks.