Shoe advice in stores: what's happening and what should be happening?

edited September 2012 in Running Science
Dear runners,

I'm a runner and I coach beginning runners. I also do some freelance survey research. Recently (partly because of Pete's book and his blog posts) I became interested in the advice and procedures followed by shoe sales people in both general sport stores and specialty running stores when selling running shoes. Often those procedures seem not based on evidence (well, maybe evidence of selling as many pairs of running shoes as possible, but no evidence that runners are getting running shoes that lead to them having fewer injuries or something like that). I'd like to write short article on that topic and because of that I'm planning to design a survey in which stores selling running shoes are asked how their advice for customers to buy a certain running shoe comes about. 

What I've seen so far is advice based on:
looking at the wear pattern of old running shoes
live or video analysis of pronation 
live or video analysis of footstrike
analysis of arch while standing still
computerised analysis of arch pattern (you stand on surface with pressure sensors and it performs some kind of analysis)
weight/bmi of the customer
the customer description of what type of shoes he/she likes.

I would love to hear from people here (and what also should make an interesting discussion):
1) what types of advice they observed in running stores 
2) what they think is evidence based or at least non-bogus advice when it comes to running shoe advice

thanks!
Will

Comments

• Will,

Great topic......hope you get what your after.

Here's some advice I have witnessed or been given at a few running shoe stores.

1) How long have you been running? -Does this question mean I need a more expensive shoe in relation to my ability level? Or does it mean the salesperson can now push any shoe that they are currently overstocked on?